Faculty Caucus Minutes September 14, 2005 (Approved)

Call to Order

The Senate Chairperson Lane Crothers called the caucus to order immediately following the Senate meeting.

Approval of Faculty Caucus Minutes of August 31, 2005

Motion: By Senator Borg, seconded by Senator Hampton, to approve the Faculty Caucus Minutes of August 31, 2005. The minutes were unanimously approved.

09.06.05.04 Election of Academic Planning Committee Faculty Representatives

Senator Crothers: Historically, the Academic Planning Committee, which is the committee that oversees the program review process, has been composed almost predominantly of members from the Senate. In the last several years, that election process has become more problematic as we have all become overcommitted to too many committees. The Executive Committee agreed this year to the recommendations for membership from Jan Shane, who chairs the committee. These new members are in addition to the Senate Planning and Finance Committee member and the Senate Academic Affairs Committee member. Jan would like to increase faculty participation in the review process, so, rather than having a membership elected from the Senate, the Executive Committee agreed to solicitation of membership from the colleges. This is to guarantee full college representation and also to in time train and help people to understand what assessment really means. The Executive Committee agreed to pilot this model this year and we will likely receive a recommendation to change the policy in line with this permanently.

The following faculty members were unanimously elected to the Academic Planning Committee by the Faculty Caucus for one-year appointments. These members replace the three faculty Senate members formerly elected annually to the APC.

Morag Boyd, Milner Diane Dean, EAF Ann Haugo, THE Steve Hunt, COM Sandra Klitzig, KNR Pam Lindsey, MCN Edgar Norton, FIL

Election of Council on General Education Faculty Representatives

The following faculty members were unanimously elected to the Council on General Education by the Faculty Caucus:

Deborah Gentry, CAST, 2005-06 Janeen Mollenhauer, Mennonite College of Nursing, 2005-08 Claire Lamonica, CAS (Humanities), 2005-08

Adjournment

1 of 1 5/15/2012 1:24 PM