Faculty Caucus Minutes August 29, 2007 (Approved)

Call to Order

Senate Chairperson Dan Holland called the Faculty Caucus to order immediately following the Senate meeting.

Approval of Faculty Caucus Minutes of 4/25/07 – To be approved at the next Faculty Caucus Meeting.

Faculty Liaisons

Senator Holland: One of the important jobs that a number of you have volunteered to do this year is to be liaisons to your colleagues in your departments and colleges. One of the things we do hope to accomplish with the liaisons this year is to really get the word out. There were a few instances last year where, apparently, communications broke down a little bit. I believe on the Writing Exam, for instance, the people who were recommending its elimination did not tell the department, or something along those lines. So, we really would like to have much better communication between the Caucus, the Senate and the constituencies.

Senator Carlson: I will be the liaison for Mennonite College of Nursing.

Senator Holland: Looks like you don't have a nameplate.

Senator Carlson: No.

Senator Holland: Does anyone else need one?

NOTE: New or replacement nameplates are supplied for each Senate member prior to the meeting when the Senate Office is notified that new members will be joining the Senate, or that replacement nameplates are needed, if there is enough time after notification to have the nameplates created.

The 2007-08 faculty liaisons are:

CAS Faculty Liaisons Susan Kalter, Humanities T.Y. Wang, Social Sciences Brian Wilkinson, Sciences

CAST Faculty Liaison Randy Winter

CFA Faculty Liaisons Ed Stewart for College Cynthia Kukla for Art

COB Faculty Liaison Farzaneh Fazel

1 of 2 5/15/2012 1:17 PM

COE Faculty Liaison Gary O'Malley

Mennonite College of Nursing Faculty Liaison Elizabeth Carlson

Milner Faculty Liaison Kathleen Lonbom

Action Items:

AFEGC Faculty Election

Elango Balasubramanian from COB was elected to the Academic Freedom, Ethics and Grievance Committee. His term of service is 2007-2010. There were no additional nominees and there are no additional vacancies on AFEGC.

SCERB University Hearing Panel Faculty Election

Alan Lessoff from CAS was elected to the SCERB University Hearing Panel. His term of service is 2007-2010. There are now seven faculty vacancies on the panel.

SCERB Faculty Election

Cindy Ropp from CFA was elected to the SCERB Hearing Panel. Her term of service is 2007-08. There are no other vacancies on SCERB.

University Curriculum Committee Faculty Election

Bruce Hawkins from Arts and Sciences was elected to the University Curriculum Committee. His term of service is 2007-2010. There is one faculty vacancy on UCC for the College of Business.

Adjournment

Motion: By Senator Steward, seconded by Senator Thompson, to adjourn. The motion was unanimously approved.

2 of 2