# Faculty Caucus Minutes Immediately Following the Academic Senate Meeting August 27, 2008 (Approved)

#### Call to Order

Senate Chairperson Dan Holland called the meeting to order immediately after the Academic Senate meeting.

# Approval of Faculty Caucus Minutes of May 7, 2008

**Motion:** By Senator Borg, seconded by Senator Hoelscher, to approve the Faculty Caucus Minutes of May 7, 2008. The minutes were unanimously approved.

# Academic Freedom, Ethics and Grievance Committee Faculty Election (4 Vacancies, 1 Nominee)

**Motion**: By Senator Stewart, seconded Zielinski, to elect Dale Fitzgibbons, MQM, by acclamation to the AFEGC for the term of 2008-2011. There were no additional nominations and the motion was unanimously approved.

# Council for Teacher Education Faculty Confirmations (5 Vacancies, 5 Appointments Proposed for Confirmation)

**Motion:** By Senator Klitzing, seconded by Senator Hoelscher, to confirm as a slate the proposed faculty appointments to the Council for Teacher Education. There were no additional nominations. The motion was unanimously approved and the following faculty representative appointments were confirmed:

# College of Education

Jeff Bakken, SED; term 2008-11(Reappointment following a partial term)

# College of Arts & Sciences

Karen Coats, ENG; term 2008-11 (Reappointment following a partial term)

#### College of Applied Sciences and Technology

Deb Garrahy, KNR; term 2008-11 (Reappointment following a partial term)

#### College of Business

Glenn Bailey, BEA; term 2008-11 (Reappointment following a partial term)

#### Milner

\*Sharon Naylor; term 2008-11 (Reappointment following two consecutive three-year terms)

\*Senate Bylaws, Article 2.8, Section D: "...No person shall serve on the same committee longer than two consecutive terms without specific approval of the Executive Committee when the Executive Committee determines that such service is in the best interest of the Senate."

# Council on General Education Faculty Election (3 vacancies, 3 Nominees)

The Faculty Caucus was presented a ballot with three representatives to fill the three vacancies on the Council on General Education. Professor Aimee Adkins, who was on the ballot as Mennonite College of Nursing's faculty nominee, has an interim administrative assignment in MCN as the associate dean. Professor Orifwaa Aduonum, the nominee for the College of Fine Arts, was on the ballot for the confirmation of a term which began in 2007, though the Senate Office was not informed until July 2008 that she had begun serving on CGE in 2007. Additionally, Senator Borg informed the Faculty Caucus that Professor Aduonum would be

1 of 2 5/15/2012 1:14 PM

on sabbatical for the entire 2008-09 academic year.

Professor Borg made the following motion to remove Professors Adkins and Aduonum from the Council on General Education Ballot:

**Motion**: By Senator Borg, seconded by Senator Stewart, to consider the Council on General Education Ballot as a ballot for the election only of Steve Hunt, the CAS (Humanities) nominee. The motion was unanimously approved.

**Motion**: By Senator Borg, seconded by Senator Klitzing, to elect Steve Hunt to the Council on General Education for the term of 2008-11. There were no additional nominees and the motion was unanimously approved.

# Athletic Council Faculty Election (1 Vacancy, 1 Nominee)

**Motion:** By Senator Zielinski, seconded by Senator Kalter, to elect Christy Bazan, CAST nominee, to serve temporarily for Professor Lauren Lowell on the Athletic Council. There were no additional nominees and the motion was unanimously approved.

# University Curriculum Committee Faculty Election (1 Vacancy, 1 Nominee)

**Motion:** By Senator Hoelscher, seconded by Senator Stewart, to elect Paul Walker, CAST nominee, to the Athletic Council for the term of 2008-11. There were no additional nominations and the motion was unanimously approved.

# SCERB Faculty Election (1 Vacancy, 1 Nominee)

**Motion:** By Senator Borg, seconded by Senator Waterstraat, to elect Cindy Ropp, CFA nominee, to the Student Code Enforcement and Review Board (SCERB) for the term of 2008-11. There were no additional nominations and the motion was unanimously approved.

# University Service Award Committee Faculty Election (4 Vacancies, 1 Nominee)

**Senator Holland:** The University Service Award Selection Committee Election will have to be delayed until the next Faculty Caucus meeting because we have received two additional nominations from CAS and are awaiting receipt of the nominees' vita.

No nominations were received for the vacancies that remain in the College of Fine Arts, Mennonite College of Nursing and Milner Library. Terms are for two years.

### Honorary Degree Committee Academic Senate Faculty Representative Election

**Senator Holland:** We need a faculty representative from the Senate to serve on the Honorary Degree Committee. This calls for a very low level of commitment; the committee will probably meet once, maybe twice, to look over vitas for people we are considering for an honorary degree for Founders Day.

Senator Sandi Zielinski and Senator Jim Thompson both volunteered to serve. The Caucus voted by ballot and Senator Zielinski was elected to serve on the Honorary Degree Committee.

#### Adjournment

**Motion:** By Senator Borg, seconded Senator Fazel, to adjourn. The motion was unanimously approved.

2 of 2 5/15/2012 1:14 PM