Faculty Caucus Minutes Wednesday, September 24, 2008 (Approved)

Call to Order

Senate Chairperson Dan Holland called the Faculty Caucus to order immediately following the Academic Senate meeting.

Approval of Faculty Caucus Minutes of August 27, 2008

Motion: By Senator Borg. seconded by Senator Fazel, to approve the Faculty Caucus Minutes of August 27, 2008. Corrections by Senator Stewart: Professor Oforiwaa Aduonum was referred to as "he" within the minutes, but should have been indicated as "she". Also, "Professor Oforiwaa" should be replaced with "Professor Aduonum". The minutes, as corrected, were unanimously approved.

University Service Awards Committee Faculty Representatives Elections

Senator Holland: Our purpose for meeting this evening is to elect faculty representatives to the University Service Awards Committee. I will note that we are not actually following the official way in which we are supposed to conduct this election. From what I read, it seemed that we were to get a single nomination from the dean of each college. We seem to have three from the College of Arts and Sciences and, for that college, we actually have to have an official election. However, for the first two, from Mennonite College of Nursing, we have Mary Dyck, and from Milner Library, we have Jean MacDonald.

Motion: By Senator Stewart, seconded by Senator Thompson, to approve the nominations of Mary Dyck and Jean MacDonald as a slate. The nominees were unanimously approved.

Senator Holland: Now, for election to the committee, we have Gregory Braswell from Psychology, Rajeev Goel from Economics and Nancy Lind from Politics and Government.

Nancy Lind was elected by ballot as the College of Arts and Sciences' faculty representative to the University Service Awards Committee. There remains a vacancy on the committee for the College of Fine Arts.

Adjournment

Motion: By Senator Stewart, seconded by Senator Borg, to adjourn. The motion was unanimously approved.